Xubuntu makes my laptop feel like a supercomputer

I really like Xubuntu (the Ubuntu Linux with interface xfce). It’s lighweight and fast, but still have all the good things I like with Linux – the logic filesystem, the great programs etc. It makes my laptop feel very fast, eventhough it 5 years old. That it is very pretty and secure does help a bit ;) Starting Linux after working with Windows XP on this computer feels like getting out in fresh air after suffocating. All the things I use is just an apt-get away. Lovely. The wireless works out of the box, it doesn’t in Windows. I’m happy, really happy. Now I can get some work done! Oh, and I use Opera as browser :)

xubuntu_logo_slogan

3 Responses to “Xubuntu makes my laptop feel like a supercomputer”


  1. 1 robinzrants November 7, 2009 at 11:58 am

    I’ve just discovered Xubuntu as well! As “lightweight” Linux distributions go, people say “Omygosh, Xubuntu is BLOATED and HEAVY!”

    They may be right when you compare Xubuntu to those bare-bones ultralights that don’t offer half as much wonderful stuff. But it makes my 5-year-old Dell Dimension fly farther and faster than it ever did on WinXP!

    I’m amazed and delighted. Xubuntu is light and fast and full-featured and very pretty!

    I played with a few of the ultralight LXDE-based Linux distros too, but they’re buggy, and they balked on my poor ‘puter. When LXDE “grows up,” it’ll be Xfce’s twin (in fact, I’ve learned that LXDE takes alot of its code from Xfce anyway).

    Xubuntu is a well-kept secret. But not for long the way I keep bragging about it, lol. Xubuntu RAWKS!

    • 2 Mattias Wirf November 8, 2009 at 3:02 pm

      Thanks for the comment, sorry I was a bit slow to approve :)

      I think I will write more on opensource on this blog in the future, would be a nice change from all my blogs about photography and design.

  2. 3 vrkalak December 17, 2009 at 5:30 am

    I totally concur . . . Xubuntu rocks!!

    I am using the testing version of Xubuntu 10.04 Alpha 1


Leave a Reply

